When the Villainess Loves | Chapter 1

1. When I Became A Villainess

Princess Libertia was a villainess. A villainess who tormented the innocent and harassed the male lead and the heroine.

And, she met a fitting end for a villainess. In a damp, stench-filled prison, Libertia died after enduring bitter torture.

Later on, the crown prince said: “That selfish and evil Libertia wouldn’t have lived long anyways, so don’t feel sad because of that… She just died a bit earlier in a slightly more gruesome way, that’s all.”

Yes, Princess Libertia had been ill. And, that line was the male lead, the crown prince, trying to comfort the crying heroine who felt sorry for the villainess’ demise.

Considering this male lead’s personality, it actually did happen.

I was a big fan of the elegant and dignified Princess Libertia, and as soon as I saw that line, I had the urge to tear the entire book apart, but I endured it and even read it till the end.

And, this story only became increasingly absurd.
“Crazy… What in the world is this?”

To sum it up, this story is about the love between the angelic and innocent heroine, Ariel, and the obsessive male lead, Prince Robert.

Ariel uses that innocence of hers to seduce people and is loved by everyone. Finally, in the end, she defeats the villainess, Libertia, and marries the Crown Prince, Robert.

It would’ve been much better if the story had just ended with their marriage.

“What do you mean by ‘everyone dies’?”

It was understandable that Libertia-unnie died, since she was the villainess, but what I didn’t expect was the fact that two out of the three handsome and charming second male-leads and all the supporting characters died because of Ariel and Robert’s love.

The final, remaining second male-lead, who was also the final boss, the ultimate villain, also lost things precious to him.

“Wow, they really are an annoyingly useless couple.”

The illustration of the male lead and heroine smiling together at the end was so laughable.

And so, I ended up tearing the book apart.


…I really should’ve torn it to shreds and then burned it afterwards.

I promise you, I would’ve definitely done this, had I known that- later on, I’d be thrown into this situation.

“…”

One embarrassing summer day, I became Princess Libertia.

***

There are a couple reasons as to why I became a fan of Princess Libertia.

First of all, her appearance was exactly the style I liked. And in addition to that, she was so regal and noble. Even when she was doing those evil things, she never lost her dignity, unlike other villains.

To be honest, she was kind of cool.

But the little favor I had for her grew even more in the last scene she appeared in.

When the heroine, Ariel, came to visit the Princess, feeling sorry for the death of the villainess, Princess Libertia had said, “I’m a princess. I’ve been a princess since birth, so I will die as a princess as well.”

There was not even a hint of regret in her.

She had whispered: “Even when I didn’t do anything, no one ever loved me. Ever since I was born, people have called me a villainess.”

It was all because of her mother.

Libertia’s mother, the person who made her family to retire from the aristocratic political scene without a way back.

TL/N: Essentially, she doomed her family’s reputation by making them lose a lot of their power as aristocrats.

A true villainess.

“The young lady has lived a life that is difficult to understand.”

Lyssia Byrus.

She was the one who’d trapped her own daughter, forcing Libertia to be subject to the prejudice that she too, would become evil.

Because of Lyssia, no matter how hurt or down Libertia felt, no one would ever come to comfort her.

“But alas, wouldn’t it be better to die, known as a villainess rather than a lunatic? So, I decided to become a true villainess.”

It was the people around her that eventually forced Libertia to make this decision.

“To be honest, I took pleasure in tormenting you, the person who everyone loved for no apparent reason.”

Libertia continued without looking at Ariel: “And now, because of everything, no one will remember me as a lunatic, but a villainess.”

It was later revealed in the second half that her life had been limited from the start, yet this still didn’t set her apart from the other characters.

It was because she was already a perfect villainess.

“So don’t be mistaken. My own actions have never been influenced by you. I’m here because of the things I’ve done. And I have no regrets.”

The princess smiled bitterly, staring at the moonlight leaking through the metal bars.

“None at all.”

Yeah, it was in that part that the villainess Libertia replaced the heroine, Ariel in my heart!

Ahh, princess-unnie is so cool, pretty, and just simply awesome!

“…But I never wanted anything like this.”

Princess Leticia woke up in the morning, and I was inside her.


This happened when Libertia-unnie was nineteen, three months before the story of the book will start to unfold.

The memories I had of my previous life were faint and messed up, but I knew for sure that I wasn’t the original owner of this body, Libertia.

First, because I still had the vivid memory of my death.

Second, because I still had memories of reading this book…

And third… because above all, this beautiful appearance didn’t belong to me.

“Ha.”

There was no chicken meat everywhere, no swollen, goldfish eyes framed by ramen.
Essentially, this wasn’t my face, which only my dad ever called pretty.

TL/N: Okay, so these are all metaphors for what she looked like in her previous life; Chicken meat=extra fat, goldfish eyes=swollen eyes, and “framed by ramen”= messy hair. Mdr this took me some time to figure out loll

Instead, the girl shown in the mirror was incredibly beautiful, with mysterious purple eyes and silky, platinum-blonde hair. Her fair skin was glowing softly.

Princess Libertia was absolutely, ridiculously pretty.

Oh my goodness…

I couldn’t hold back my sigh.
“You’re so pretty… AND you’re telling me that you died at that age without dating even ONCE?!”

Well, to be fair, that would be torture, too. Besides…

“Even if I were to avoid the torture route, I’m going to die soon anyways…?”

What the world?!

The elegant Leticia I so dearly loved is nowhere to be found, and instead, I’ve been left in this mess out of nowhere.

Having to live through this and being given another life…it’s seriously too much.

“Unnie…”

I sobbed into the bed and buried myself pitifully. I cried for Libertia-unnie, for how she never received any love. No, actually I cried for help.

Perhaps it was both.

I spent an entire week crying like that,

Until I met Princess Libertia in my dream.


10 thoughts on “When the Villainess Loves | Chapter 1

  1. Hey dear, sorty for bothering you, but me and Team are already translating this since a while now. We just have turned our website private, so that the readers have to go through a security check. That’s why NU hides the chapters as dead links.
    I don’t want you to waste your precious time on translating something, that was already done. Especially when there are so many other amazing story’s who are just waiting to get translated 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi is it possible to get to your translations. Idk if u are on discord or somewhere else. I would greatly appreciate it. I know about purges.

      Liked by 2 people

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started